How to Watch New Year’s Eve 2022 Live Online

People around the world are beginning to wave goodbye to 2021 and welcome 2022.

New Year’s Eve is approaching, and you know what that means: people making lofty public resolutions they have no intention of keeping past Jan. 3.

Planning on ringing in the new year from home (again)? Many countdowns are welcoming 2022 with open arms and live audiences again after closing festivities to the public or stopping the show altogether last year. With Omicron variant cases on the rise, cities including Georgia, Berlin, Paris, Rome, and others have canceled this year’s large-scale gatherings, while events at New York’s Time Square will be scaled back and all attendees will be required to wear masks.

Several events will be broadcast live from Times Square, including the official New Year’s Eve Ball drop co-hosted by Jonathan Bennett and Jeremy Hassell, Dick Clark’s Rockin’ New Year’s Eve hosted by Ryan Seacrest, and CNN’s New Year’s Eve Live with Anderson Cooper and Andy Cohen.

I’m as bad as anyone. I always resolve to stop looking at my phone, read more poetry, lose a bit of weight, dunk a basketball, fight a shark, build a pinball machine, patent a flying car, fight another shark, and win an Oscar, and you know what? None of it ever happens, not even the Oscar.

The Pacific Island nations of Tonga, Samoa, and Kiribati are the first to see the new year — when it is still 5 a.m. on December 31 on the East Coast of the United States and 11 a.m. UTC (Coordinated Universal Time, the global standard). New Zealand is next, an hour later.

American Samoa, just 101 miles from Samoa but in an entirely different timezone, must wait a full day before seeing in 2021.

The sparkling Waterford crystal ball at Times Square is ready to be turned on at 6 pm ET when the 12 feet in diameter orbe will be raised up and sit until a minute before midnight when it will descend to bring in 2022.

There are 39 different local times in use — including two which are more than 12 hours ahead of UTC — which means it takes 26 hours for the entire world to enter the New Year. So, if you really, really, really love to hum “Auld Lang Syne,” the list below will get you in the spirit — over and over and over again. Here’s when the world has been and will be ringing in the New Year, relative to East Coast time.

Friday, December 31, 2021

5 a.m. ET Samoa, Tonga, and Christmas Island/Kiribati

5:15 a.m. Chatham Islands/New Zealand

6 a.m. New Zealand (with a few exceptions) and five more locations/islands

7 a.m. Small region of Russia and seven more locations

8 a.m. Much of Australia and seven more (including Melbourne and Sydney)

8:30 a.m. Small region of Australia (including Adelaide)

9 a.m. Queensland/Australia and six more (including Brisbane)

9:30 a.m. Northern Territory/Australia (including Alice Springs)

10 a.m. Japan, South Korea, and four more

10:15 a.m. Western Australia/Australia

11 a.m. China, Philippines, and 10 more

Noon Much of Indonesia, Thailand, and seven more

12:30 p.m. Myanmar and Cocos Islands

1 p.m. Bangladesh and six more

1:15 p.m. Nepal

1:30 p.m. India and Sri Lanka

2 p.m. Pakistan and eight more

2:30 p.m. Afghanistan

3 p.m. Azerbaijan and eight more

3:30 p.m. Iran

4 p.m. Moscow/Russia and 22 more

5 p.m. Greece and 31 more (including Egypt, South Africa, and Romania)

6 p.m. Germany and 45 more (including Algeria, Italy, Belgium, and France)

7 p.m. United Kingdom and 24 more (including Portugal and Iceland)

8 p.m. Cabo Verde and two more

9 p.m. Regions of Brazil and South Georgia/Sandwich Islands

10 p.m. Most of Brazil, Argentina, and nine more

10:30 p.m. Newfoundland and Labrador/Canada

11 p.m. Some regions of Canada and 28 more

Saturday, January 1, 2022

Midnight US (East Coast) and Cuba

1 a.m. US (Central), Mexico, and nine more

2 a.m. US (Mountain) and two more

3 a.m. US (Pacific) and four more

4 a.m. US (Alaska) and regions of French Polynesia

4:30 a.m. Marquesas Islands/French Polynesia

5 a.m. US (Hawaii) and two more

6 a.m. American Samoa and two more

7 a.m. Much of US minor outlying islands (unincorporated)

Leave a Reply

Back to top button